Program Participants

Major Guests

Deji Bryce Olukotun / Photo © Beowulf Sheehan

Guest of Honor: Deji Bryce Olukotun has written sf novels Nigerians in Space and After the Flare. After the Flare is a current finalist for the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, and it received Special Citation from the Philip K. Dick Award. His short fiction has appeared in several anthologies, and his nonfiction has been in The London Magazine, Electric Literature, The Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, ESPN, Men’s Health, and other venues. Deji is an attorney specializing in technology and human rights. He is currently the Head of Social Impact at the audio technology company Sonos and a Future Tense Fellow at New America.


David Pomerico

Editor Guest: David Pomerico is Executive Editor at Harper Voyager. He’s working with authors such as Richard Kadrey, Michael R. Fletcher, and Warren Hammond. Previously he was Acquisitions Editor for 47North, Amazon’s sf imprint, and before that he worked at Spectra and Del R.  Despite his love of science fiction, David has never seen an episode of Doctor Who.



Aaron de Orive

Toastmaster: Aaron de Orive co-wrote the YA novel Blad Singer (with Martha Wells). He created the fantasy role-playing game SHARD: World of the False Dawn. He has written for several video games, including Metroid Prime 3: Corruption, Star Wars Galaxies: An Empire Divided, Tabula Rasa, Anarchy Online, and Star Wars: The Old Republic. In the podcasting world, he is known as a host onThe Gentlemen Nerds.


Artist GuestRosemary Valero-O’Connell is a Minneapolis born, Zaragoza raised cartoonist and illustrator with a BFA in Comic Art from the Minneapolis College of Art and Design (’16). She’s done work for DC Comics (Gotham Academy, Vertigo Quarterly), BOOM! Studios (Lumberjanes, Steven Universe), CAPY games (OK KO!: Let’s Be Heroes), Mondo Tees, Kazoo Magazine, and The City Pages, among others. Her work has been shown in galleries both locally and internationally (Gowanus Print Lab, Roq La Rue Gallery, Telegraph Gallery, etc). She’s currently working on a graphic novel with award-winning author Mariko Tamaki for First Second called Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me, to be released in 2019. She’s a proud member of the Out Of Step Arts collective, has been recognized by the Society of Illustrators NY, and won her second grade spelling bee by spelling the word “human.”

Craig W. Chrissinger

Fan Guest: Craig W. Chrissinger annually reports on the Williamson Lectureship for Locus Magazine, and infrequently reviews books for The Albuquerque Journal. He earned a Journalism degree from the University of New Mexico in 1984, and has written for Fangoria, Starlog, The Comics Buyer’s Guide, Comics Scene, the UNM Daily Lobo, and Sci-Fi Teen. (His first piece for Starlog was in 1989 when he visited New Mexico author Melinda Snodgrass at Paramount when she was serving as story editor on Star Trek: The Next Generation – and, yes, you better believe he got a tour of the sets). In April 2016, he interviewed actress/author Felicia Day on stage during her spring book tour. Somehow, he has been dragged into appearing in such low-budget films as Science Bastard, Wedding Slashers, and The Stink of Flesh. He edits the Albuquerque SF Society newsletter (ASFacts), helps run ASFS and Bubonicon, has produced Bubonicon’s program book since 1985, and works at a bookstore. In addition, he has served as a freelance screening representative for advance film screenings (sneaks) in Albuquerque since 1986. He lives in Albuquerque with his wonderful partner, Jessica Coyle, plus one loving cat.

Holly Black / Photo © Sharona Jacobs

Special Guest: Holly Black is the author of bestselling contemporary fantasy books for kids and teens. Some of her titles include The Spiderwick Chronicles (with Tony DiTerlizzi), The Modern Faerie Tale series, the Curse Workers series, Doll Bones, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, the Magisterium series (with Cassandra Clare) and The Darkest Part of the Forest. She has been a finalist for an Eisner Award, and the recipient of the Andre Norton Award, the Mythopoeic Award and a Newbery Honor. She currently lives in New England with her husband and son in a house with a secret door.


Robert J. Sawyer / Photo © Carolyn Clink

Special Guest: Robert J. Sawyer is one of only eight writers in history (and the only Canadian) to win all three of the science-fiction field’s top honors for best novel of the year: the World Science Fiction Society’s Hugo Award, which he won in 2003 for his novel Hominids; the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s Nebula Award, which he won in 1996 for his novel The Terminal Experiment; and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, which he won in 2006 for his novel Mindscan. He won the Hal Clement Award for Best Young Adult Novel of the Year for the novel WWW: Watch. The 2009-2010 ABC TV series Flashforward was based on his novel of the same name, and Rob was a scriptwriter for that series.

Regional Participants